The Resource The season of you and me, Robin Constantine

The season of you and me, Robin Constantine

Label
The season of you and me
Title
The season of you and me
Statement of responsibility
Robin Constantine
Title variation
Season of you and me
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
Cassidy Emmerich is reeling from a sudden, humiliating breakup. The last thing she wants to do is stick around and be reminded of her ex everywhere she goes. On impulse, she decides to spend the summer with her father and his family at their Jersey Shore bed-and-breakfast. A different scene and a new job working as a camp counselor seem like the perfect recipe for forgetting Gavin as quickly as possible not to mention for avoiding him until he leaves for college. Bryan Lakewood is sick of nevers. You'll never walk. You'll never surf. You'll never slow dance with a girl and have her put her head on your shoulder. Last year he made one false move now he's paralyzed and needs to use a wheelchair. But this summer, he's back at his camp job and is determined to reclaim his independence and his confidence. Cass is expecting two months of healing her broken heart. Bryan is expecting a summer of tough adjustments. Neither is expecting to fall in love
Tone
Character
Review
  • Gr 9 Up—Constantine's latest is a teen journey of exploration, choice and consequence, and love. Cassidy, a soon-to-be senior in high school, feels hurt and betrayed by her ex-boyfriend but finds that she still loves him. Bryan, a camp counselor at a summer resort town, struggles to adjust to life in a wheelchair since his ill-fated choice. They share their stories and conflicting emotions and meet when Cassidy moves in with her dad at the resort town. Is she escaping? Or does she really want to spend a whole summer instead of her usual week with her dad? The dialogue, both internal and with friends throughout the book, is authentic and sets a fast pace. Readers will love the decision-making process of both main characters and appreciate their interactions with friends and family members. Moments of peril, comedy, and heartrending realizations will engage readers until the very end. VERDICT A great teen love story about growing up and making difficult choices. Fans of Sarah Dessen and Jodi Picoult will eat up this novel.—Cathleen Ash, Manor High School Library, TX --Cathleen Ash (Reviewed 04/01/2016) (School Library Journal, vol 62, issue 4, p162)
  • After Cassidy breaks up with her boyfriend, Gavin, she needs time and space to herself, so she decides to spend the summer three hours away from home at the Jersey Shore bed-and-breakfast run by her father and his new family. Working as a day-camp counselor and entertaining her younger stepbrother are welcome distractions for Cassidy; so is Bryan, a cute counselor and former surfer who is struggling to redefine himself after an accident left him partially paralyzed. He and Cassidy start out as friends, but their relationship soon takes a romantic turn. When Gavin contacts Cassidy, wanting to get back together, she has to decide whether to forgive him for his cheating or to create a new beginning with Bryan. With its dreamy beach setting and sympathetic heroine, this summer love story, alternately narrated by Cassidy and Bryan, will satisfy romance buffs. Readers will likely predict how things will turn out fairly early on, but Constantine (The Promise of Amazing) delivers believable dialogue, relatable dilemmas, and a sensitive exploration of disability—both its challenges and the occasional #wheelchairperk, as Bryan puts it. Ages 14–up. Agent: Tamar Rydzinski, Laura Dail Literary. (May)
			 --Staff (Reviewed 05/02/2016) (Publishers Weekly, vol 263, issue 18, p)
  • Trying to leave behind her breakup with her manipulative ex, Gavin, Cassidy decides to spend the summer with her father's family at their Jersey Shore bed-and-breakfast. Despite her parents' painful divorce, Cassidy's father's family is welcoming and supportive; her younger half brother's innocent humor is particularly endearing. Soon, however, Cassidy feels considerably less welcome when she gets a job as a camp counselor—as a summer girl, she faces scorn and jealousy from local girls. At camp, she becomes acutely aware of Bryan, the polar opposite of Gavin. Paralyzed in a poignantly mundane accident, Bryan is adjusting to both paraplegia and a breakup of his own. Bryan becomes a counselor to force himself to socialize—and, maybe, to relearn how to surf. His doubts and frustrations are realistic and balanced by wit—he's not above claiming the occasional #wheelchairperk, like having "the upper body of fucking Iron Man" or "hot girls being helpful." Narrated in their alternating voices, Bryan and Cassidy's gradual romance is graced by a cast of caring, bantering friends, the sunny beach setting, and even a riddle to solve. Squalls and rash decisions threaten the summer fun, but drama never overshadows characterization. Cassidy's wavering between Gavin's and Bryan's respective attractions will resonate with teens who've gone through messy breakups, and Bryan's increasing confidence will both educate and satisfy readers. Both Bryan and Cassidy are white. Fun and thoughtful—more than just a summer read. (Romance. 14-18)(Kirkus Reviews, March 1, 2016)
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10488933
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Constantine, Robin
Dewey number
813.6
Index
no index present
Literary form
non fiction
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/minGradeLevel
  • 9
  • 12
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Interpersonal relations
  • Friendship
  • Teenagers with disabilities
  • Camps
  • Self-esteem
Label
The season of you and me, Robin Constantine
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier.
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent.
Dimensions
22 cm.
Extent
344 pages
Isbn
9780062438836
Isbn Type
(hbk.)
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia.
Media type code
  • n
Specific material designation
regular print
Label
The season of you and me, Robin Constantine
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier.
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent.
Dimensions
22 cm.
Extent
344 pages
Isbn
9780062438836
Isbn Type
(hbk.)
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia.
Media type code
  • n
Specific material designation
regular print

Library Locations

  • Broadbeach LibraryBorrow it
    61 Sunshine Boulevard, Mermaid Waters, QLD, 4218, AU
    -28.035507 153.424153
  • Burleigh Heads LibraryBorrow it
    Park Avenue, Burleigh Heads, QLD, 4220, AU
    -28.090304 153.452264
  • Burleigh Waters LibraryBorrow it
    Corner Christine Avenue and Galeen Drive, Burleigh Waters, QLD, 4220, AU
    -28.081169 153.432148
  • Coolangatta LibraryBorrow it
    Level 1, The Strand, Corner Marine Parade and Dutton Street, Coolangatta, QLD, 4225, AU
    -28.166856 153.537057
  • Elanora LibraryBorrow it
    The Pines Shopping Centre, Guineas Creek Road, Elanora, QLD, 4221, AU
    -28.135667 153.469567
  • Helensvale LibraryBorrow it
    Helensvale Plaza, Corner Lindfield Road and Sir John Overall Drive, Helensvale, QLD, 4212, AU
    -27.922595 153.3341
  • Local Studies LibraryBorrow it
    Corner Garden and Lawson Streets, Southport, QLD, 4215, AU
    -27.970549 153.412387
  • Mobile LibraryBorrow it
    Gold Coast, QLD, AU
  • Nerang LibraryBorrow it
    Corner White and Price Streets, Nerang, QLD, 4211, AU
    -27.991463 153.335174
  • Palm Beach Community Lounge and LibraryBorrow it
    Eleventh Avenue, Palm Beach, QLD, 4221, AU
    -28.117206 153.467597
  • Robina LibraryBorrow it
    196 Robina Town Centre Drive, Robina, QLD, 4226, AU
    -28.076691 153.38214
  • Runaway Bay LibraryBorrow it
    Lae Drive, Runaway Bay, QLD, 4216, AU
    -27.91145 153.399086
  • Southport LibraryBorrow it
    Corner Garden and Lawson Streets, Southport, QLD, 4215, AU
    -27.970549 153.412387
  • Upper Coomera LibraryBorrow it
    Corner Reserve and Abraham Roads, Upper Coomera, QLD, 4209, AU
    -27.869062 153.304254
Processing Feedback ...