The Resource The ninth hour, Alice McDermott

The ninth hour, Alice McDermott

Label
The ninth hour
Title
The ninth hour
Statement of responsibility
Alice McDermott
Title variation
9th hour
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
From the National Book Award-winning author comes a luminous, deeply humane novel about three generations of an Irish immigrant family in 1940s and 1950s Brooklyn - for fans of Anne Tyler, Anne Enright and Colm TÃ3ibín. On a gloomy February afternoon, Jim sends his wife Annie out to do the shopping before dark falls. He seals their meagre apartment, unhooks the gas tube inside the oven, and inhales. Sister St. Saviour, a Little Nursing Sister of the Sick Poor, catches the scent of fire doused with water and hurries to the scene: a gathered crowd, firemen, and the distraught young widow. Moved by the girl's plight, and her unborn child, the wise nun finds Annie work in the convent's laundry - where, in turn, her daughter will grow up amidst the crank of the wringer and the hiss of the iron. In Catholic Brooklyn in the early part of the twentieth century, decorum, superstition and shame collude to erase Jim's brief existence; and yet his suicide, although never mentioned, reverberates through many generations - testing the limits of love and sacrifice, of forgiveness and forgetfulness. In prose of startling radiance and precision, Alice McDermott tells a story that is at once wholly individual and universal in its understanding of the human condition. Rendered with remarkable lucidity and intelligence, The Ninth Hour is the crowning achievement of one of today's finest writers
Summary
A portrait of the Irish-American experience is presented through the story of an Irish immigrant's suicide and how it reverberates through innumerable lives in early twentieth-century Catholic Brooklyn
Theme
Storyline
Pace
Tone
Writing style
Character
Award
  • New York Times Notable Book, 2017
  • Library Journal Best Books, 2017.
  • Booklist Editors' Choice, 2017.
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10576367
Cataloging source
AU-TuBDP
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
McDermott, Alice
Dewey number
813.54
Index
no index present
Intended audience
Adult
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Families
  • Immigrants
  • Irish American families
  • Brooklyn (New York, N.Y.)
Target audience
adult
Label
The ninth hour, Alice McDermott
Link
https://fe.bolindadigital.com/wldcs_bol_fo/b2i/productDetail.html?productId=BLM_444109&b2bSite=1545
Instantiates
Publication
Note
Downloadable Book
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier.
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent.
Control code
9781408854624-BLM1290401-000
Dimensions
unknown
Extent
1 online resource.
Form of item
electronic
Governing access note
Access restricted to registered members of City Libraries
Isbn
9781408854624
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia.
Media type code
c
Specific material designation
remote
System details
Mode of access: World Wide Web
Label
The ninth hour, Alice McDermott
Link
https://fe.bolindadigital.com/wldcs_bol_fo/b2i/productDetail.html?productId=BLM_444109&b2bSite=1545
Publication
Note
Downloadable Book
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier.
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent.
Control code
9781408854624-BLM1290401-000
Dimensions
unknown
Extent
1 online resource.
Form of item
electronic
Governing access note
Access restricted to registered members of City Libraries
Isbn
9781408854624
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia.
Media type code
c
Specific material designation
remote
System details
Mode of access: World Wide Web

Library Locations

  • Broadbeach LibraryBorrow it
    61 Sunshine Boulevard, Mermaid Waters, QLD, 4218, AU
    -28.035507 153.424153
  • Burleigh Heads LibraryBorrow it
    Park Avenue, Burleigh Heads, QLD, 4220, AU
    -28.090304 153.452264
  • Burleigh Waters LibraryBorrow it
    Corner Christine Avenue and Galeen Drive, Burleigh Waters, QLD, 4220, AU
    -28.081169 153.432148
  • Coolangatta LibraryBorrow it
    Level 1, The Strand, Corner Marine Parade and Dutton Street, Coolangatta, QLD, 4225, AU
    -28.166856 153.537057
  • Elanora LibraryBorrow it
    The Pines Shopping Centre, Guineas Creek Road, Elanora, QLD, 4221, AU
    -28.135667 153.469567
  • Helensvale LibraryBorrow it
    Helensvale Plaza, Corner Lindfield Road and Sir John Overall Drive, Helensvale, QLD, 4212, AU
    -27.922595 153.3341
  • Local Studies LibraryBorrow it
    Corner Garden and Lawson Streets, Southport, QLD, 4215, AU
    -27.970549 153.412387
  • Mobile LibraryBorrow it
    Gold Coast, QLD, AU
  • Nerang LibraryBorrow it
    Corner White and Price Streets, Nerang, QLD, 4211, AU
    -27.991463 153.335174
  • Palm Beach Community Lounge and LibraryBorrow it
    Eleventh Avenue, Palm Beach, QLD, 4221, AU
    -28.117206 153.467597
  • Robina LibraryBorrow it
    196 Robina Town Centre Drive, Robina, QLD, 4226, AU
    -28.076691 153.38214
  • Runaway Bay LibraryBorrow it
    Lae Drive, Runaway Bay, QLD, 4216, AU
    -27.91145 153.399086
  • Southport LibraryBorrow it
    Corner Garden and Lawson Streets, Southport, QLD, 4215, AU
    -27.970549 153.412387
  • Upper Coomera LibraryBorrow it
    Corner Reserve and Abraham Roads, Upper Coomera, QLD, 4209, AU
    -27.869062 153.304254
Processing Feedback ...