The Resource The girl in the castle : a novel, Santa Montefiore

The girl in the castle : a novel, Santa Montefiore

Label
The girl in the castle : a novel
Title
The girl in the castle
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Santa Montefiore
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
International sensation Santa Montefiore presents the first book in a trilogy that follows three Irish women through the decades of the twentieth century--perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Hazel Gaynor.Born on the ninth day of the ninth month in the year 1900, Kitty Deverill is special as her grandmother has always told her. Built on the stunning green hills of West Cork, Ireland, Castle Deverill is Kitty's beloved home, where many generations of Deverills have also resided. Although she's Anglo Irish, Kitty's heart completely belongs to the wild countryside of the Emerald Isle, and her devotion to her Irish Catholic friends Bridie Doyle, the daughter of the castle's cook, and Jack O'Leary, the vet's son, is unmatched--even if Jack is always reminding her that she isn't fully Irish. Still, Jack and Kitty can't help falling in love although they both know their union faces the greatest obstacles since they are from different worlds. Bridie cherishes her friendship with Kitty, who makes her feel more like her equal than a servant. Yet she can't help dreaming of someday having all the wealth and glamor Kitty's station in life affords her. But when she discovers a secret that Kitty has been keeping from her, Bridie finds herself growing resentful toward the girl in the castle who seems to have it all.When the Irish revolt to throw over British rule in Southern Ireland, Jack enlists to fight. Worried for her safety, Jack warns Kitty to keep her distance, but she refuses and throws herself into the cause for Irish liberty, running messages and ammunition between the rebels. But as Kitty soon discovers, her allegiance to her family and her friends will be tested--and when Castle Deverill comes under attack, the only home and life she's ever known are threatened. A powerful story of love, loyalty, and friendship, The Girl in the Castle is an exquisitely written novel set against the magical, captivating landscape of Ireland
Related
Member of
Summary
A first installment in a trilogy follows the experiences of Kitty, who enjoys a life of privilege on Ireland's wild countryside at the side of an increasingly resentful best friend and the vet's son she loves, until the Irish revolt threatens her beloved home
Storyline
Tone
Writing style
Character
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10523657
Cataloging source
BT
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1970-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Montefiore, Santa
Dewey number
823.92
Index
no index present
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Series statement
Deverill chronicles
Series volume
0001
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Families
  • Ireland
Target audience
adult
Label
The girl in the castle : a novel, Santa Montefiore
Instantiates
Publication
Note
  • "Originally published as Songs of Love and War in Great Britain in 2015 by Simon & Schuster UK Ltd." -- verso
  • "Includes P.S. insights, interviews & more ..."--Cover
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier.
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent.
Dimensions
24 cm.
Extent
538, 27 pages
Isbn
9780062490797
Isbn Type
(hbk.)
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia.
Media type code
  • n
Specific material designation
regular print
Label
The girl in the castle : a novel, Santa Montefiore
Publication
Note
  • "Originally published as Songs of Love and War in Great Britain in 2015 by Simon & Schuster UK Ltd." -- verso
  • "Includes P.S. insights, interviews & more ..."--Cover
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier.
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent.
Dimensions
24 cm.
Extent
538, 27 pages
Isbn
9780062490797
Isbn Type
(hbk.)
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia.
Media type code
  • n
Specific material designation
regular print

Library Locations

  • Broadbeach LibraryBorrow it
    61 Sunshine Boulevard, Mermaid Waters, QLD, 4218, AU
    -28.035507 153.424153
  • Burleigh Heads LibraryBorrow it
    Park Avenue, Burleigh Heads, QLD, 4220, AU
    -28.090304 153.452264
  • Burleigh Waters LibraryBorrow it
    Corner Christine Avenue and Galeen Drive, Burleigh Waters, QLD, 4220, AU
    -28.081169 153.432148
  • Coolangatta LibraryBorrow it
    Level 1, The Strand, Corner Marine Parade and Dutton Street, Coolangatta, QLD, 4225, AU
    -28.166856 153.537057
  • Elanora LibraryBorrow it
    The Pines Shopping Centre, Guineas Creek Road, Elanora, QLD, 4221, AU
    -28.135667 153.469567
  • Helensvale LibraryBorrow it
    Helensvale Plaza, Corner Lindfield Road and Sir John Overall Drive, Helensvale, QLD, 4212, AU
    -27.922595 153.3341
  • Local Studies LibraryBorrow it
    Corner Garden and Lawson Streets, Southport, QLD, 4215, AU
    -27.970549 153.412387
  • Mobile LibraryBorrow it
    Gold Coast, QLD, AU
  • Nerang LibraryBorrow it
    Corner White and Price Streets, Nerang, QLD, 4211, AU
    -27.991463 153.335174
  • Palm Beach Community Lounge and LibraryBorrow it
    Eleventh Avenue, Palm Beach, QLD, 4221, AU
    -28.117206 153.467597
  • Robina LibraryBorrow it
    196 Robina Town Centre Drive, Robina, QLD, 4226, AU
    -28.076691 153.38214
  • Runaway Bay LibraryBorrow it
    Lae Drive, Runaway Bay, QLD, 4216, AU
    -27.91145 153.399086
  • Southport LibraryBorrow it
    Corner Garden and Lawson Streets, Southport, QLD, 4215, AU
    -27.970549 153.412387
  • Upper Coomera LibraryBorrow it
    Corner Reserve and Abraham Roads, Upper Coomera, QLD, 4209, AU
    -27.869062 153.304254
Processing Feedback ...