The Resource Everland, Wendy Spinale

Everland, Wendy Spinale

Label
Everland
Title
Everland
Statement of responsibility
Wendy Spinale
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
London is a ruin, destroyed by German bombs, ravaged by the Horologia virus, and ruled by the ruthless Captain Hanz Otto Oswald Kretschmer, whose Marauders search for and seize the children who are immune to the virus in the hope that their blood will produce a cure--their latest victim is sixteen-year-old Gwen Darling's younger sister and Gwen will do anything to get her back, even join up with Pete and his gang of Lost Boys living in a city hidden underground
Member of
Storyline
Pace
Writing style
Award
Keystone to Reading Book Award (Pennsylvania), High School level, 2018.
Review
  • Grades 6-9 A deadly virus has decimated England. Only children survive, though they, too, become ill as they grow older. Anyone not sick becomes a the target of the Marauders, a band of soldiers who stalk children in hopes that one of them will be The Immune, the one who might become the basis for a cure. Heading the Marauders is Hook, the son of the German queen seeking world domination. The Marauders are plagued by Pete, the leader of the Lost Children, the orphaned of England who scavenge for their lives among the ruins of a once-great city. Enter Gwen, a young woman who just might be The Immune that Hook seeks. Peter Pan goes steampunk in this debut, which twists the familiar tale into a survival story complete with well-drawn characters, a blistering plot, and plenty of adventure. Readers unfamiliar with the source material will still appreciate the constant threat of danger pursuing Peter and Gwen and their charges. Fans of Scott Westerfeld and A. G. Howard will be eager for more from this author. -- Lesesne, Teri (Reviewed 5/15/2016) (Booklist, vol 112, number 18, p53)
  • /* Starred Review */ Zeppelins dot the sky and Marauders roam the bombed-out streets of Everland, formerly London, in this darkly imaginative take on Peter Pan. Fifteen-year-old Gwen Darling and her siblings Joanna and Mikey are struggling to survive since their parents failed to come home after the war started. A virus set free when Capt. Hanz Otto Oswald Kretschmer (aka Hook) conquered London has moved beyond its borders. Hook aims to find a cure using children who are immune, but Pete, his Lost Boys, and Lost Girl Bella have no plans to get themselves captured. When Joanna goes missing, Pete offers to help find her. What follows is a fast-paced adventure set in and under a ruined city where steam-powered weaponry collides with the ingenuity of the Lost Children. In an exemplary debut, Spinale uses Gwen and Hook’s voices to offer glimpses into the psyche of a man desperate to please his cruel mother and a girl intent on saving the only family she has left. This is a magical, wondrous treat, with a conclusion that’s nothing less than epic. Ages 12–up. Agent: Thao Le, Sandra Dijkstra Literary Agency (May) --Staff (Reviewed 03/07/2016) (Publishers Weekly, vol 263, issue 10, p)
  • With London crippled by bombings and a deadly disease outbreak, Gwen Darling and her siblings, Joanna and Mikey, are bent on just surviving until they find a way out. Besides the demolished state of their home, they face serious obstacles, the loss of their parents and the city's other adults being just one. They must also evade Capt. Hans Otto Oswald Kretschmer—Hook for short. Hook and his army of Marauders go about snatching up the bombings' survivors for experimentation for a cure for the Horologia virus. Those taken by Hook never return. One day they snatch Joanna, and in Gwen's quest to rescue her sister, she joins forces with a fearless boy named Pete and his equally bold friend, Bella. The question then becomes: will this team, together with the Lost Boys, be enough to outsmart and outrun Hook and his German army and rescue Joanna without putting any other lives at risk? This reimagining of Peter Pan tries too hard to hold on to key elements of its inspiration to succeed on its own, and the hand of the author is sadly evident. Repetitive conversations unnecessarily lengthen the story, and the romantic subplot seems clumsily tacked on. The characters are fickle and impulsive in ways that feel designed to ensure that readers never forget that they are children. With predictable plot twists, this story is unoriginal in ways that have nothing to do with the fact that it retells a classic. (Urban fantasy. 14-18)(Kirkus Reviews, February 15, 2016)
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10515800
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Spinale, Wendy
Dewey number
813.6
Index
no index present
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/minGradeLevel
  • 6
  • 9
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Series statement
Everland
Series volume
0001
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Orphans
  • Dystopias
  • Virus diseases
  • Immunity
  • Hiding places
  • London (England)
Target audience
adolescent
Label
Everland, Wendy Spinale
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier.
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent.
Dimensions
22 cm.
Extent
312 pages
Isbn
9780545836944
Isbn Type
(hbk.)
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia.
Media type code
  • n
Specific material designation
regular print
Label
Everland, Wendy Spinale
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier.
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent.
Dimensions
22 cm.
Extent
312 pages
Isbn
9780545836944
Isbn Type
(hbk.)
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia.
Media type code
  • n
Specific material designation
regular print

Library Locations

  • Broadbeach LibraryBorrow it
    61 Sunshine Boulevard, Mermaid Waters, QLD, 4218, AU
    -28.035507 153.424153
  • Burleigh Heads LibraryBorrow it
    Park Avenue, Burleigh Heads, QLD, 4220, AU
    -28.090304 153.452264
  • Burleigh Waters LibraryBorrow it
    Corner Christine Avenue and Galeen Drive, Burleigh Waters, QLD, 4220, AU
    -28.081169 153.432148
  • Coolangatta LibraryBorrow it
    Level 1, The Strand, Corner Marine Parade and Dutton Street, Coolangatta, QLD, 4225, AU
    -28.166856 153.537057
  • Elanora LibraryBorrow it
    The Pines Shopping Centre, Guineas Creek Road, Elanora, QLD, 4221, AU
    -28.135667 153.469567
  • Helensvale LibraryBorrow it
    Helensvale Plaza, Corner Lindfield Road and Sir John Overall Drive, Helensvale, QLD, 4212, AU
    -27.922595 153.3341
  • Local Studies LibraryBorrow it
    Corner Garden and Lawson Streets, Southport, QLD, 4215, AU
    -27.970549 153.412387
  • Mobile LibraryBorrow it
    Gold Coast, QLD, AU
  • Nerang LibraryBorrow it
    Corner White and Price Streets, Nerang, QLD, 4211, AU
    -27.991463 153.335174
  • Palm Beach Community Lounge and LibraryBorrow it
    Eleventh Avenue, Palm Beach, QLD, 4221, AU
    -28.117206 153.467597
  • Robina LibraryBorrow it
    196 Robina Town Centre Drive, Robina, QLD, 4226, AU
    -28.076691 153.38214
  • Runaway Bay LibraryBorrow it
    Lae Drive, Runaway Bay, QLD, 4216, AU
    -27.91145 153.399086
  • Southport LibraryBorrow it
    Corner Garden and Lawson Streets, Southport, QLD, 4215, AU
    -27.970549 153.412387
  • Upper Coomera LibraryBorrow it
    Corner Reserve and Abraham Roads, Upper Coomera, QLD, 4209, AU
    -27.869062 153.304254
Processing Feedback ...