The Resource Death comes to the school, Catherine Lloyd

Death comes to the school, Catherine Lloyd

Label
Death comes to the school
Title
Death comes to the school
Statement of responsibility
Catherine Lloyd
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
Three years have passed since Major Sir Robert Kurland and Lucy Harrington, the rector's daughter, became husband and wife. Having established a measure of contentment among the gentry of Kurland St. Mary, the couple lately have found an unsettling distance grown between them. But when the small-village peace is disrupted by the arrival of an anonymous letter accusing Lucy of witchcraft, her as yet unfulfilled desire to be a mother becomes the least of her worries, especially after she learns she is not the only one to have received such a malicious letter
Member of
Tone
Writing style
Review
  • Set in 1820, Lloyd’s enjoyable fifth Kurland St. Mary mystery (after 2016’s Death Comes to the Fair) opens with Maj. Sir Robert Kurland and his wife of three years, Lucy, preparing Kurland Hall for Christmas. Depressed from a recent miscarriage, Lucy is dismayed to receive a venomous poison-pen note predicting that she will die alone and childless—and to learn that others are receiving similar notes. Further unpleasantness ensues. Soon after Lucy meets Martha Broomfield, the cruel mistress of the village school she and her husband have endowed, Miss Broomfield is found dead at her desk, stabbed through the eye with a quill pen. In her effort to learn more about the victim, Lucy contacts the schoolmistress’s former employer and discovers a cache of costly jewelry and a mysterious key in Miss Broomfield’s quarters that suggest possible motives, but she remains unsure whether the murder and the poison-pen letters are linked. The liveliness of Lloyd’s many secondary characters and the marital tensions arising from Lucy’s fertility woes add richness to the well-plotted puzzle. Agent: Deirdre Knight, Knight Agency. (Dec.)
			 --Staff (Reviewed 10/16/2017) (Publishers Weekly, vol 264, issue 42, p)
  • Three years after the events of Death Comes to the Fair, Lucy Harrington and her husband, Major Sir Robert Kurland, struggle with their marriage in the wake of several miscarriages. But the couple reconcile to probe the murder of the teacher at the school they had established. This Regency mystery will appeal to readers of Georgette Heyer and Jane Austen. --Lesa Holstine (Reviewed 12/01/2017) (Library Journal, vol 142, issue 20, p68)
  • A pair of married sleuths find their lives disrupted by murder and misdeeds in 1820.<br><br>Lucy, Lady Kurland, has not recovered physically or mentally from the two miscarriages she's suffered in the past six months. Her husband, Sir Robert, who still has ongoing pain from an equestrian mishap at Waterloo, is never easy to deal with, and Lucy fears that her inability to provide an heir is the reason he has not sought her sexual favors. When Lucy receives a poison-pen letter, she's deeply disturbed; when more people receive similar letters, they become a riddle she hopes to solve. But not before a more important riddle: the murder of Miss Broomfield, the woman who was hired at the last minute to teach in the village school the Kurlands endow. A visit to the school convinces Lucy that Miss Broomfield is not at all suited to teach young children. She not only seems to dislike them, but also displays a religious mania for sulfur and brimstone that makes Lucy wonder if she's the poison pen. The woman was killed by being stabbed with a long hat pin; there was also a quill pen stuck in her eye. Inquiries reveal that Miss Broomfield was dismissed from her prior job and that she may have come from a wealthy background, if indeed all the valuable jewelry Lucy finds at the schoolhouse is legally hers. Robert, who serves as the local magistrate, is not eager for his fragile wife to become involved in another investigation (<i>Death Comes to Kurland Hall</i>, 2015, etc.), but he also knows that strong-minded Lucy doesn't always heed his advice.<br><br>A romance of married life intertwined with a murder puzzle featuring a heroine suitable for a Jane Austen novel.(Kirkus Reviews, October 15, 2017)
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10597577
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1963-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Lloyd, Catherine
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Series statement
Kurland St. Mary mysteries
Series volume
0005
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Anonymous letters
  • Married people
  • Villages
  • Murder
  • Great Britain
Label
Death comes to the school, Catherine Lloyd
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier.
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent.
Dimensions
22 cm.
Extent
273 pages
Isbn
9781496702081
Isbn Type
(hbk.)
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia.
Media type code
  • n
Specific material designation
regular print
Label
Death comes to the school, Catherine Lloyd
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier.
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent.
Dimensions
22 cm.
Extent
273 pages
Isbn
9781496702081
Isbn Type
(hbk.)
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia.
Media type code
  • n
Specific material designation
regular print

Library Locations

  • Broadbeach LibraryBorrow it
    61 Sunshine Boulevard, Mermaid Waters, QLD, 4218, AU
    -28.035507 153.424153
  • Burleigh Heads LibraryBorrow it
    Park Avenue, Burleigh Heads, QLD, 4220, AU
    -28.090304 153.452264
  • Burleigh Waters LibraryBorrow it
    Corner Christine Avenue and Galeen Drive, Burleigh Waters, QLD, 4220, AU
    -28.081169 153.432148
  • Coolangatta LibraryBorrow it
    Level 1, The Strand, Corner Marine Parade and Dutton Street, Coolangatta, QLD, 4225, AU
    -28.166856 153.537057
  • Elanora LibraryBorrow it
    The Pines Shopping Centre, Guineas Creek Road, Elanora, QLD, 4221, AU
    -28.135667 153.469567
  • Helensvale LibraryBorrow it
    Helensvale Plaza, Corner Lindfield Road and Sir John Overall Drive, Helensvale, QLD, 4212, AU
    -27.922595 153.3341
  • Local Studies LibraryBorrow it
    Corner Garden and Lawson Streets, Southport, QLD, 4215, AU
    -27.970549 153.412387
  • Mobile LibraryBorrow it
    Gold Coast, QLD, AU
  • Nerang LibraryBorrow it
    Corner White and Price Streets, Nerang, QLD, 4211, AU
    -27.991463 153.335174
  • Palm Beach Community Lounge and LibraryBorrow it
    Eleventh Avenue, Palm Beach, QLD, 4221, AU
    -28.117206 153.467597
  • Robina LibraryBorrow it
    196 Robina Town Centre Drive, Robina, QLD, 4226, AU
    -28.076691 153.38214
  • Runaway Bay LibraryBorrow it
    Lae Drive, Runaway Bay, QLD, 4216, AU
    -27.91145 153.399086
  • Southport LibraryBorrow it
    Corner Garden and Lawson Streets, Southport, QLD, 4215, AU
    -27.970549 153.412387
  • Upper Coomera LibraryBorrow it
    Corner Reserve and Abraham Roads, Upper Coomera, QLD, 4209, AU
    -27.869062 153.304254
Processing Feedback ...